Live Chat
  • One stop service: solve all your problems
  • Orders Tracking and shipped out notification
  • More campaigns, even more discounts!
  • Need help before making an order?
  • Chat with us in real-time.
  • For Aftersale issues, just submit a ticket. We will reply within 24 hours.
  • Multi-language service
  • 24/7 support available
Hi! Log Out Log In SIGN UP
Home > How To > How to remove the Relocated Items Folder after finishing the MacOS Catalina update?
xiaomi mi note 10 post banner
How to remove the Relocated Items Folder after finishing the MacOS Catalina update?

How to remove the Relocated Items Folder after finishing the MacOS Catalina update?

By  Sophia Windsor 2019-10-11 2320 1

MacOS Catalina is available now. However, you may meet some issues after upgrading your Mac to the latest MacOS Catalina version. One of the common issues is that there appears a new folder called “Relocated Items” on your desktop. Should you hang on to this folder? Or how to delete it from your Mac. Please see the detailed guide below.

How to remove the Relocated Items Folder after finishing the MacOS Catalina update 

Why is there a Relocated Items Folder on your desktop?

Some files may couldn't be moved to their new locations, and may be not compatible with macOS security settings during the update process. Then MacOS will create a new folder to relocate these files that couldn't be handled by the update. This will guarantee that all your files are not damaged. So don't worry too much about the new Relocated Items Folder.  

How to remove the Relocated Items Folder after finishing the MacOS Catalina update

Should you hang on to this folder?

When you see the Relocated Items Folder, don't rush to delete it. You should open it to check the content of the folder and see if there are some important files, such as photos and other useful files. If there are some important files, you should keep this fold. If there are not, you can delete this folder.

How to delete the Relocated Items Folder?

If you are sure to delete the Relocated Items Folder, you can do it. However, it may pop up some error messages like "xx can't be modified or deleted because it's required by macOS", or "The operation can't be completed because the item "xx" is in use" when you try deleting the Relocated Items Folder. If so, just try the following fix steps:

Step 1. Reboot your Mac and hold down Command-R to enter the Recovery Mode.

Step 2. From the top menu bar lick Utilities and launch Terminal.

Step 3. Disable SIP (System Integrity Protection) by entering the command "csrutil disable".

Step 4. Restart your Mac normally.

Step 5. Delete the Relocated Items Folder and then empty trash.

Step 6. Reboot your Mac and hold down Command-R to enter the Recovery Mode.

Step 7. From the top menu bar lick Utilities and launch Terminal.

Step 8. Re-enable SIP by entering the command "csrutil enable".

Step 9. Restart your Mac normally again.

Note: Do remember to re-enable System Integrity Protection on your Mac by following the steps from Step 6 to Step 9 above.     


 You may also want to read:
 Xiaomi Carrobot smart projection car HUD (Head Up Display) Bluetooth edition FAQ
 Does GoPro Hero 8 suitable for taking picture or as vlog camera?
 How to make TimeLapse with GoPro Hero 8?

Gearbest GearBest shipping memo - mini banner K

Extensive Product Selection

● Over 300,000 products

● 20 different categories

● 15 local warehosues

● Multiple top brands

Convenient Payment

● Global payment options: Visa, MasterCard, American Express

● PayPal, Western Union and bank transfer are accepted

● Boleto Bancario via Ebanx (for Brazil)

Prompt Shipping

● Unregistered air mail

● Registered air mail

● Priority line

● Expedited shipping

Dedicated After-sales Service

● 45 day money back guarantee

● 365 day free repair warranty

● 7 day Dead on Arrival guarantee (DOA)

Prev article:Xiaomi Haylou GT1 Pro TWS Earbuds Start Manual: How to Use the Haylou GT1 Pro?

Next article:How to Charge the Xiaomi Haylou GT1 Pro TWS Earbuds?

You might also like: